Review of The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic (Grishaverse) by Leigh Bardugo (Illustrations), Sara Kipin (Illustrator)

The Language of Thorns: Midnight Tales and Dangerous Magic (Grishaverse) by Leigh Bardugo (Illustrations), Sara Kipin (Illustrator)

Review: I have been craving  more and more of this world and for Bardugo to create these beautiful dark fairy tales… I can’t help but want even more of these kind of stories from the Grishaverse.

Also the art! If you have not seen the beautiful art that slowly grows on the edges with each page you read, till it gets to the end of the story to the fully formed illustration. It is so great and changes from what you would think it was going to be.

AND can we please talk about the last story in The Language of Thorns!!! The short story at the end I’m talking about is When Water Sang Fire, because I can not be the only one to t think you know who from the Shadow and Bone series was very much just starting out (or just a couple of thousand years or so). And the brother!!!!

But I gotta say it must be their bloodline or something because they are the best villains to love.

Favorite quote: There’s just too much that I loved, that I could not pick!

Would I? Reread? I think so. Recommend to others? Only if they liked or want to read the rest of the Grishaverse. Read more from author? Uh YES!

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

Edition: Hardcover, 281 pages.

Young Adult. Romance. Fantasy. Short Stories. Magic.

Published September 26th 2017 by Imprint.

SummaryLove speaks in flowers. Truth requires thorns.

Travel to a world of dark bargains struck by moonlight, of haunted towns and hungry woods, of talking beasts and gingerbread golems, where a young mermaid’s voice can summon deadly storms and where a river might do a lovestruck boy’s bidding but only for a terrible price.

Inspired by myth, fairy tale, and folklore, #1 New York Times–bestselling author Leigh Bardugo has crafted a deliciously atmospheric collection of short stories filled with betrayals, revenge, sacrifice, and love.

Perfect for new readers and dedicated fans, these tales will transport you to lands both familiar and strange—to a fully realized world of dangerous magic that millions have visited through the novels of the Grishaverse.

This collection of six stories includes three brand-new tales, all of them lavishly illustrated with art that changes with each turn of the page, culminating in six stunning full-spread illustrations as rich in detail as the stories themselves.

-Summary from

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)