Review of Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

Eliza and Her Monsters by Francesca Zappia

Review: I have started this review so many times now that I have lost count. But this book was so good, so amazing and deeply impact-full to me that every time I tried to start this reviewI just couldn’t. Hopefully this time I will be able to clearly express my thoughts on this wonderful book.

When I first got this book, I had no clue about what it could be about. But as I quickly learned later that same day/night, this book would be an amazing book that ha a lot if not everything to do with the geeky culture.

I don’t think there has been another book this year that has made feel the same as this one did and still does. Heck, I think that there was another book that I have read this year that I read as fast as this one.

Eliza and her story are so close to my heart that there were many times that I was crying along with her or just for her. There is just so much to say about this book that I am having an impossible time finding the right words or any words for that matter.

The story plot of “Eliza and her monsters” is  full of divers parts of the geeky culture and life. It was a bit amazing to read about from the outside (as I am a really big geek and participate in almost all of the same things shown within the book). But the author Francesca Zappia did a wonderful job writing about this mostly unseen side of the fandom and geeky life. She has also gotten another reader for life.

So I am going to stop this review here I think… Yeah that might be best because i feel that I would ramble on some more

Favorite quote: There’s just too many of them for me to list.

Would I? Reread this? Yes, it can’t happen soon enough. Tell everyone I meet to read this book? It keeps happening, so yes.

Rating: 5 out of 5 stars.

Edition: Hardcover, Owlcrate Exclusive Edition, 385 pages.

Young Adult. Contemporary. Romance. Mature Themes. 

Published May 30th 2017 by Greenwillow Books.

SummaryEighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she’s worked for begins to crumble.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza’s persona is popular. Eliza can’t imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza’s secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she’s built—her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity—begins to fall apart. With pages from Eliza’s webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza’s online forums, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson’s Nimona and Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl.

-Summary from GoodReads.com

Leave a Reply

(Enter your URL then click here to include a link to one of your blog posts.)